IHR Emergency Committee regarding monkey pox outbreak in multiple countries

The Director-General of the WHO convenes an emergency committee under Article 48 of the International Health Regulations regarding the current outbreak of monkeypox virus. The meeting will take place on June 23, 2022 and is only open to members and advisors of the Emergency Committee.

The objectives of this meeting are to provide the WHO Director-General with a view on whether the event constitutes a public health emergency of international concern and also on proposed possible temporary recommendations.

List of participants


Dr Jean-Marie Okwo-Bele – Public Health Consultant, Democratic Republic of Congo national
Former Director of Vaccines and Immunization Division, WHO Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (retired)


dr. Nicola Low – Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health Medicine, Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine, University of Bern, Switzerland

other members

dr. Daniel Bausch – Senior Director, Emerging Threats and Global Health Security, FIND, The Global Alliance for Diagnostics, Switzerland

dr. Clarissa Damaso – Associate Professor, Head, Laboratory of Virus Molecular Biology, Carlos Chagas Filho Biophysics Institute, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

dr. Inger Damon (Rapporteur) – Director, Division of High Consequence Pathogens and Pathology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States of America

dr. Jake Dunning – Senior Researcher, Center for Tropical Medicine and Global Health, Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Dr Ousmane Faye – Head of Virology Department, Pastoral Institute of Dakar, Senegal

dr. Rinat Maksyutov – Director General, Federal Budgetary Research Institution – State Research Center for Virology and Biotechnology VECTOR, Federal Service for Supervision of the Protection of Consumer Rights and Human Welfare, Russian Federation

dr. Othoman Mellouk – Lead, Access to Diagnostics and Medicines, International Treatment Preparedness Coalition, Morocco

dr. Dimie Ogoina – Head, Infectious Disease Unit, Okolobiri General Hospital, Niger Delta University, Bayelsa, Nigeria

dr. Nittaya Phanuphak – Executive Director, Institute of HIV Research and Innovation, Bangkok, Thailand

Dr Anne Rimoin – Professor of Epidemiology and Gordon-Levin Endowed Chair in Infectious Diseases and Public Health, Fielding School of Public Health, University of California, Los Angeles, United States of America

dr. Tomoya Saito – Director, Center for Emergency Preparedness and Response, National Institute of Infectious Diseases, Japan

dr. Kathrin Summermatter – Head of the Biosafety Center and General Manager of the BSL3, Institute of Infectious Diseases, University of Bern, Switzerland

dr. Daniel Tarantola – Adjunct Research Professor, Institute on Inequalities in Global Health, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California, United States of America and Former Director of Vaccines and Immunization Division, WHO Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (retired)

dr. Zunyou Wu Chief Epidemiologist, China Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Director, Division of HIV Prevention, NCAIDS/China CDC, China and Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology, University of California, Los Angeles, United States


dr. Steve Ahuka – Head, Department of Virology, National Institute of Biomedical Research, Democratic Republic of Congo

dr. Demetre Daskalakis – Director- Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention, Centers of Disease Control and Prevention, United States of America

dr. Cleiton Euzebio De Lima – Senior Advisor to Communities and Important Populations, UNAIDS Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland

dr. Gregg Gonsalves – Associate Professor of Epidemiology, Yale Institute for Global, Health, Yale School of Public Health, Yale University, United States of America

dr. David Heymann – Professor of Epidemiology of Infectious Diseases, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, United Kingdom; Head, Center on Global Health Security, Chatham House, London, United Kingdom; and Former Deputy Director General for Health Security, WHO Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (retired)

dr. Wanda Markotter – Director, Center for Viral Zoonoses, Department of Medical Virology, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Pretoria, South Africa

dr. Gianfranco Spiteri – Group Leader, Epidemic Intelligence Group, European Center for Disease Prevention and Control, Sweden

dr. Theresa Tam – Chief Public Health Officer, Public Health Agency of Canada, Canada

Leave a Comment