Mississippi Board of Mental Health Announces New Leadership Roles for Fiscal Year 2023 | Mississippi politics and news

dr. Sampat Shivangi of Ridgeland has been appointed Chairman of the Board and Stewart Rutledge of Oxford has been appointed Vice-Chairman.

On Wednesday, the Mississippi Board of Mental Health announced new leadership roles for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2022. The board is composed of nine members appointed by the governor of Mississippi and confirmed by the state Senate.

The nine-member board consists of a physician, a psychiatrist, a clinical psychologist, a social worker with mental health experience, and a citizen representative from each of Mississippi’s five congressional districts, as they existed in 1974.

dr. Sampat Shivangi of Ridgeland has been appointed Chairman of the Board and Stewart Rutledge of Oxford has been appointed Vice-Chairman.

dr. Sampat Shivangi was first appointed to the Council in 2009 by Governor Haley Barbour and reappointed in 2016 by Governor Phil Bryant. dr. Shivangi is currently a member of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Center for Mental Health Services National Advisory Council.

Dr Sampat Shivangi

During his time on the council of mental health, he previously served as chairman and member of the patient care subcommittee.

“He has played an active role in efforts to promote suicide awareness and prevention, particularly those related to postpartum
depression awareness and treatment,” the DMH said in a release.

In addition to his time on the Board of Mental Health, Shivangi previously served on the Mississippi State Board of Health.

“From 2005 to 2008, he was an adviser to the United States Secretary
of Health and Human Services in the administration of President George W. Bush. He is the
founding president of the American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin in Mississippi
and is the former president and chairman of the India Association of Mississippi,” continued DMH.

Shivangi represents the physician category in the Mental Health Council.

Stewart Rutledge represents the First Congressional District and was appointed to its board of directors in 2017.

Stewart Rutledge

Rutledge is a licensed attorney, but his primary work is real estate development, with a focus on developing affordable housing. Before turning to real estate development, he was a business consultant at Sta-Home Healthcare, the largest home health care provider in Mississippi.

“He earned a bachelor’s degree in physics from the University of Mississippi, enrolled at the University of Mississippi Medical School, but decided to attend the University of Mississippi instead.
Mississippi Law School, where he graduated with honors,” said the DMH.

In addition to serving on the Board of Mental Health, Rutledge previously served as:

  • Chairman of the Mississippi Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee, and he was a member of the
    Mississippi Supreme Court’s Commission on Juveniles.
  • Mississippi Representative on the Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice in Washington, DC
  • Member of the Board and General Counsel for the Mississippi Freedom 50th, Consulting Congresswoman Bennie Thompson and former Mississippi Supreme Court Justice
    Reuben Anderson in an effort to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Freedom Riders.

Leave a Comment